a beautiful thing called a nap

Naps.  I absolutely love them.  Specifically, I love napping on the small couch in my living room, curled up into a tiny ball with no time in particular that I have to wake up.

Back when I was in high school, my mom would get mad at me for taking a nap before dinner because a) I was grumpy and groggy when she’d wake me up to come set the table and b) I couldn’t sleep well later that night, resulting in my grumpiness and grogginess the next morning when I had to go to school.

Looking back, I guess I can’t blame her for not being fond of my naps.

Now, however–I am a nap MASTER.  It doesn’t matter if I have 20 minutes or 3 hours, I will nap the heck out of an afternoon or evening.

Tuesday, I had 45 minutes before I had to be at a friend’s birthday dinner.  While my roommate Maddie did the responsible thing of actually getting ready for dinner and making herself presentable, I collapsed onto the couch, took a 20 minute power nap and awoke just in time to hop onto my scooter and over to the restaurant.

Then there was yesterday, when I took the most glorious, leisurely, satisfying nap I’ve had in years.  It began sometime around 2 p.m. (I’m not sure, it was whenever my episode of New Girl ended on Hulu and I neglected to start another show) and didn’t end until 5:05 p.m. when my alarm woke me up to get ready for work.

You might be thinking, “That’s not a nap at all, it’s a bear’s period of winter hibernation.”  You are correct.  And this bear, snuggly in my flannel shirt and all, was more than ready to spring off the couch at the end of it.  Not normal: using a weird metaphor where you refer to yourself as a bear and then making a hibernation pun.

The best part of today’s nap was that my upstairs neighbor practiced guitar while I slept.  I didn’t even know that she played guitar, let alone that she knew the most soothing, melodic tunes ever.  But when I woke up and rubbed my eyes and heard a soft strumming, I realized it wasn’t my dream boyfriend serenading me at all, but Carmen in Apt. 3.

I guess the downside to my nap is that it is now 1:47 a.m. as I write this.  Even if I’m not tired now, I still look back fondly on those three hours spent wondrously on my couch and look forward to taking as many of those naps as possible this year before I have to join the “real world” where adults work through the prime nap hours.

One thought on “a beautiful thing called a nap

Leave me a comment!

