happiness is a choice

“If you want to be happy, be.”  -Leo Tolstoy

I have this quote painted in my bedroom.  I believe that happiness is a choice, and it’s one that I try to make daily.

This week has been pretty up and down for me.  I’ve dealt with some stuff that left me bummed out.  But before I allowed myself to wallow too deep into self pity, I had a moment of total clarity.  Life is too short to choose anything other than happiness.

I have fresh flowers on my dining room table.  I’m wearing a dress that I love.  I took the time to do my hair and makeup this morning.  I did an anonymous act of kindness last night.  I got a compliment from a stranger earlier.  I paid three more forward.  I woke up early and enjoyed an hour on my front steps, reading my book, enjoying the cool morning air and this song.  I ran into friendly faces all over campus today.  My nails are painted.  I’m burning my favorite candle.

I have every reason to be happy.  When I am so myopic that I can only see the few negative things affecting me, I miss out on recognizing the 100 other wonderful things that happen to me on a daily basis.  So today, and moving forward, I’m choosing happiness.  I hope you’ll choose it with me.

PS- This song feels like my day.  To be clear, I’m not a large black man singing about the United Streets of America.  I am, however, having a good day!

Leave me a comment!

