i don’t know about you, but i’m feelin…23

As I start a fresh new year as a 23-year-old, I can’t help but reflect on what age 22 brought to me.

At 22, I graduated from college and started a full-time job.

At 22, I chopped off eight inches of hair.

At 22, I discovered who I want in my corner – people who build me up, make me smile when I see their name pop up on my phone, encourage me and support me.

At 22, I began writing a novel and I read a lot of books.

At 22, I found out that there are people out there who will treat you better than you ever thought you could (or deserved to) be treated.  I learned how surprisingly nice it is to have a Valentine.  I also found out what it’s like to fall for someone and wind up getting hurt.

At 22, I made a bucket list.

At 22, I realized that it is impossible to sustain a one-sided relationship, and that some people have to leave our lives to make room for those who have yet to come.

At 22, I took vacations, moved to a new apartment, wrote letters, went to concerts, drove with the windows down and binged on television shows online.

At 22, I spent a lot of time assessing who I want to be, how I want to be known and what I want to accomplish.

I hope now that at 23, I can start making a true dent in those things.

3 thoughts on “i don’t know about you, but i’m feelin…23

Leave me a comment!

