you’ll always be home sweet home to me

Oh man.  I can’t believe how long it’s been since I’ve touched this blog!  I always try to take it as a good sign when I can’t find time to blog.  It means I’m busy out living my life: traveling, eating good food, exploring…or in the case of the last month, moving, starting a new job, getting a new roommate…the list goes on.

I have made some massive progress on my 101 in 1001 list.  I moved to a new city (Nashville – and I absolutely love it here).  I had a picnic.  I went to Cincinnati to visit my friend Blaire, where we went to a Reds game and sipped cocktails at a rooftop bar.  I re-did some furniture (and decorated our home here – post to come).

It’s definitely been an adjustment, starting my job at Warby Parker, living in a new state…but I feel like I am in the right place at the right time.  There is so much to do here; I never have an excuse to be bored!  I’ve seen so much live music, from country (Keith Urban, Cassadee Pope, Eric Church, Brad Paisley, Darius Rucker, Charles Esten, Thompson Square and more) to punk to singer-songwriter and everything in between.  I’ve hiked to waterfalls, taken walks around my neighborhood…I’ve even met a few celebrities!  The most notable are Ben Rector (my favorite musician, who I literally met today) and Chris “Cupcake” from The Bachelorette (which Alli and watch religiously every Monday night).

A lot of people have told me how brave I am – for uprooting from the place I lived for five years and a comfortable job and social network to move to a place where I know only a handful of people in a state I’ve barely spent any time in previously.  I don’t think I’m that brave, though.  I think I’m lucky.  Lucky that an opportunity came my way, and a cool company took a chance on me.  Lucky that my random roommate is turning out to be one of my closest friends.  Lucky that the people in this city are warm and kind.  I just feel lucky.

With that, I’m off to shower and get ready for a night out in Music City.  I promise, though, I’ll be back to blogging regularly from here on out!  I could never quit this thing.

Leave me a comment!

